top of page





Standing Council Committees are comprised of three Council Members with one designated as Chairperson.  The Mayor is an ex-officio member of each committee. The Committees will meet as needed.




The general function of Standing Committees is to study issues and make policy proposals to the City Council.  The committee structure is especially useful on complex, time-consuming, or controversial matters.


Council Committees are not supervisory, and have no official powers.  The Mayor may ask for advice on administrative matters, but is not bound to follow Committee recommendations.  Council Committees will review respective departmental budget requests in preparation of the annual budget.


Not all matters that come before the City Council must first be considered in committee.  In fact, Committee consideration and action is more the exception than the rule.  Committee assignment will be made by the Mayor and Council upon need.




Council Committees must follow the Iowa Open Meetings Law.  Only items publicized in the posted agenda of the meeting (24 Hours Before Meeting Time) can be acted upon.

Currently Serving Council Members

Ron Thompson        Mayor                      12/31/2023
Shaun Iske                 Mayor Pro-Tem   12/31/2023
Tracey Grigg-Schuver                              12/31/2025
Jeff Wiemann                                              12/31/2025
Tara Patrick                                                   12/31/2023
Denise Cook                                                  12/31/2023

bottom of page